Historical Timeline Stabler Leadbeater Apothecary
In 1792 Edward Stabler moved to Alexandria and opened a shop at King and Fairfax Streets. In 1796 Edward Stabler rented the property at 107 S. Fairfax Street. Edward Stabler purchases the property, in 1805, at 107 S. Fairfax Street. Edward's son William Stabler joined the business in 1819. In 1829, Edward Stabler purchased the adoining property at 105 S. Fairfax Street. Death of Edward Stabler died in 1831. Edward's son William Stabler takes over the business. In 1845, William Stabler purchased a warehouse building. William Stabler died in 1852 and his brother-in-law, John Leadbeater took over the business. Death of John Leadbeater died in 1860 and his son Edward S. Leadbeater took over the business. During the Civil War, in 1862, the Quartermaster requisitioned supplies from Leadbeater. In 1933 the shop closed during the Depression and the shop and contents were sold at auction. To preserve the property as a museum, the Friends of the American Pharmaceutical Association purchased the contents and the Landmarks Society of Alexandria purchased the buildings. In 1939 the shop re-opened as a museum. In 1982 the Stabler-Leadbeater Apothecary Museum was listed on the National Register of Historic Places. In 2006, the City of Alexandria acquired the museum as a gift
Founded in 1792, The Stabler Leadbeater pharmacy operated on this site for 141 years serving many early patriots. The shop is a unique reminder of the period when manufacturing, wholesaling and dispensing of medicines were combined as a single enterprise of pharmacists in urban centers. Dedicated June 25, 1992 by the American Institute of the History of Pharmacy.
Historic Alexandria Foundation Reg. No. 51e105, Early Buildings Survey